As Promised: Eye Primer Showdown

*When you allow an English major to do math it is bound to be an inexact science.

With such a huge price difference you would expect that the E.L.F. product wouldn’t even compare but this is not the case.  The E.L.F. Eyelid primer holds its against the life changing Urban Decay Eye Potion Primer. The ELF packaging makes up for its lack of design flair in durability however the cheap primer loses major packaging points for its lipgloss inspired applicator.

Urban Decay would be the runaway winner in the packaging category if not for the fact that I’ve had not one but TWO full sized bottles of E.P.P. destroyed when the bottom of the genie bottle shaped tube split like the seams of an obese woman’s jeggings.

PRICE: Eyeslipsface (E.L.F.) eyelid primer is the clear winner in this category.

Now judging performance is difficult. Urban Decay Eye Potion Primer has always come through. While the E.L.F. Eyelid Primer didn’t keep my eye makeup in place as long as the Urban Decay Eye Potion Primer I will admit that I am a tough subject. I touch my face a LOT and on the day of this test I suffered a migraine that made me teary eyes…plus, I’m a secret crier and like to get a few tears in when nobody is looking. For me, the difficult subject, the face toucher, the crier,  E.L.F. can’t replace  Urban Decay Eye Potion Primer however I think the ELF Eyelid Primer would be a good “gateway primer” to those that don’t know just how much a primer can transform applying eye-makeup from beauty routine to hobby.

Both products are lightweight and sheer. Since I tested the primers by wearing a different primer on each lid I’m going to say any difference in appearance was imperceptible to  and my always judgey faux bf.

Take Away:

Both products work. E.L.F. eyelid primer is a great value and a great primer for light use however I’m sticking with Urban Decay’s Eye Potion Primer because it has always stood up to my eye rubbing, secret crying and classy intoxicated vomiting of yesteryear.

I have E.L.F. Eyelid Primer in my essentials makeup bag and it will stay there since the bottle travels better than the Urban Decay Eye Potion Primer and it’s absurdly cheap $1.00 price tag means it isn’t a tragedy if I leave it on someone else’s vanity.


One response to “As Promised: Eye Primer Showdown

Leave a comment